Searching for Books (Printed & Electronic)
You can find both printed and electronic books in XJTLU Library Catalogue using either keywords for your topic, or using Subject Headings such as those listed below.
Searching by keyword allows you to find words mentioned in book titles, chapter titles, subjects, and author names. Keyword searches can be combined to find books on two or more topics using AND or OR. Searching by Subject Heading is more precise, but searches for broad topics in the book.
Some subject headings you may want to start at include the following. Some will have cross references to other related topics, and most will have sub-headings for more specific topics, formats:
• Actuarial Science • Probabilities • Insurance • Statistics
Smart Tips: Once you find a highly relevant item, use the assigned subject headings to locate similar items.
For more information about finding and using e-books in XJTLU Library, refer to E-books guide.
Encyclopedias
- Concise Encyclopedia of StatisticsPresents essential information about statistical tests, concepts, and methods.
- Dictionary of StatisticsDefines words in all areas of statistics as well as math and computing.
- Encyclopedia of Measurement and StatisticsIn-depth coverage of statistical topics and tests
- International Encyclopedia of Statistical Science (E-book)Read overviews of statistical terms, methods, and applications.
- Encyclopedia of Actuarial ScienceCall Number: HG8781./ENC/2/EN
Location: Level 7, XJTLU Library
Must-Read Actuarial Books
Here are a few books that may be useful to you as an actuarial sciences student.
Statistical Methods with Applications to Demography and Life Insurance by Call Number: HG8781./K43/4/ENISBN: 9781466505735
Enterprise Risk Management (E-book) by ISBN: 9781118836477
Key Reference Books
- Risk Management: Value at Risk and Beyond edited by M. A. H. Dempster
This collection of papers by leading researchers, examines the complex issues that concern the stability of the global financial system by presenting a mix of theory and practice. It should be essential reading for all involved in financial risk management. - Insurance risk and ruin by David C.M. Dickson
The focus of this book is on the two major areas of risk theory: aggregate claims distributions and ruin theory. For aggregate claims distributions, detailed descriptions are given of recursive techniques that can be used in the individual and collective risk models. - An Introduction to Statistical Learning with Applications in R by Gareth James, D. Witten, T. Hastie, R. Tibshirani.
An Introduction to Statistical Learning provides an accessible overview of the field of statistical learning, an essential toolset for making sense of the vast and complex data sets that have emerged in fields ranging from biology to finance to marketing to astrophysics in the past twenty years. - Options, futures and other derivatives by John C. Hull.
The book presents an accessible overview of the topic without the use of calculus. Packed with numerical samples and accounts of real-life situations, it effectively guides readers through the material while providing them with a host of tangible examples. - Corporate Value of Enterprise Risk Management: The Next Step in Business Management by Sim Segal
The first book to introduce an emerging approach synthesizing ERM and value-based management, it clarifies ERM as a strategic business management approach that enhances strategic planning and other decision-making processes.
- 利息理论 / 欧文·费雪著 ; 陈彪如译.
《利息理论》一书是美国著名经济学家欧文·费雪（1867—1947）的代表作之一。该书共有四篇，第一篇简要概述了资本和收入的性质问题，第二篇主要用文字来表述利息理论，第三篇中借助数学手段来解释利息理论，第四篇综合论述了利息在经济学中的地位、利息率与发现和发明的关系、利息与货币和物价的关系等等问题。 - 保险精算原理与实务 / 王晓军, 孟生旺主编.
本书的内容是按寿险精算和非寿险精算分别编写的。在寿险精算部分，从利息理论开始，循序渐进地介绍了生命表、精算现值、总保费和准备金评估等精算概念及技术，后还简要介绍了联合保险的精算问题。在非寿险部分，从损失模型开始，逐步介绍了分类费率、经验费率、准备金评估和再保险等问题。 - 货币银行学 / 易纲, 吴有昌著.
本书阐述和分析货币银行学的基本理论和前沿课题，并有机结合国内外具体案例，使之成为融货币银行理论与实践为一体的具有中国特色的教科书，从而形成一个反映现代货币银行理论的优秀成果，又具有中国特色的货币银行学体系。 - 证券投资学（第五版） 吴晓求 著
本教材是为金融学或经济学本科专业开设“证券投资学”专业课而编写的一本专业教材。本教材的内容与国外的投资学教材有所不同，不仅有资产定价、组合管理、量化分析的内容，还有证券投资的基本分析方法和技术分析方法。 - 计量经济学 第四版 李子奈、潘文卿著
《计量经济学》融计量经济学理论、方法与应用为一体：以中级水平内容为主，适当吸收初级和高级水平的内容；以经典线性模型为主，适当介绍一些适用的非经典模型。