Financial Data Databases

WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) is a web-based data research service from The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. The data available are mainly related to business and finance and WRDS hosts the major numeric data sets used by academic researchers. WRDS provides access to financial, accounting, banking, economics, marketing, and public policy databases through a uniform, web-based interface. Strengths include deep archives of historical data, a common web interface for access to all WRDS databases, and a variety of output file formats.

NOTICE: Individual Account is required when accessing to WRDS Platform. Please refer to the guide for more detailed information about how to create an account.

The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta-based and cap-based portfolios, treasury bond and risk-free rates, mutual funds, and real estate data.

NOTICE: The database is accessible through the WRDS platform. Individual Account is required when accessing to WRDS Platform. Refer to CRSP guide page for user manuals.

Compustat is a market database published by Standard and Poor's, providing company data going back 40 to 50 years on over 65,000 securities, as of 2010. It provides sophisticated retrieval and personalization tools to create numerous reports. The type of information published by Compustat include Global Industry Classification Standards (GICS), pricing data, earnings data, insider and institutional holdings, and other information directed at investors and analysts.

NOTICE: The database is accessible through the WRDS platform. Individual Account is required when accessing to WRDS Platform. Refer to Compustat guide page for user manuals.

The China Stock Market & Accounting Research (CSMAR) Database offers data on the China stock markets and the financial statements of China’s listed companies listed on the Shanghai Stock Exchange and the Shenzhen Stock Exchange. CSMAR contains more than 15 types of changes in shares outstanding, including initial public offering, listing of seasoned new issue, listing of re-allotment shares, etc.;  Financial Statements  (Quarterly, interim, and annual); Stock Market Trading (Daily and monthly, return, shares outstanding);  Closed-end Fund and Open-end Fund (NAV, fund holders); Corporate Governance; Merger & Acquisition; Initial Public Offering; Shareholders Research. 

CEIC is a trusted partner to help navigate the world of macroeconomic data. It provides exclusive normalized data to accurately compare economic indicators, such as GDP, CPI, FDI, Imports, Exports and Population.

Currently, CEIC Global and China Premium are available to XJTLU users. CEIC Global contains over a million timeseries covering 128 economies, and detailed data for key indicators such as GDP as well as insightful information on inflation, exports, and tourism. CEIC China Premium covers 18 macroeconomic sectors and 21 industry sectors, giving you the tools to conduct in-depth research on China. It contains regional data at the county, prefecture city and prefecture region levels, allowing detailed comparisons between regions.
 

ORBIS Bank Focus is a banking information database developed by European financial information service provider Bureau van Dijk (BvD), providing detailed operational and credit analysis data for over 44,000 major banks and important financial institutions and organizations worldwide. ORBIS Bank Focus is an authoritative analysis database for the global banking industry, and also the most frequently referenced and cited bank professional analysis database in academic papers in the field of international finance research. The analysis report of each bank in ORBIS Bank Focus includes financial stratification data over the years (Global format, Raw Data, All ratios), Global and domestic rankings of various banks, individual ratings of banks by S&P/Moody's/Fitch (long and short-term, foreign exchange, independence, support, commercial bond ratings, etc.), national sovereignty and risk ratings, detailed information on shareholders and branches of each bank, board and supervisory executives, rating reports, original financial statements, news and merger and acquisition records, etc. 

BoardEx contains full details on public company boards, board directors and senior managers, from companies around the globe. Networks of directors are mapped out based on time they've spent at the same organizations. BoardEx currently contains details on over 952,000 Individuals and over 1.45 million Organizations both public and private. BoardEx is a part of the WRDS Financial Data Project. The BoardEx Core Reports, produced in April and October of each year, are sets of excel files containing all of the available data for the selected subset(s) and region(s) for the full time-series.
 

NOTICE: The excel files are delivered one-time via a secure file transfer protocol. To download the excel files, please refer to Financial Data LibGuide Page.

OptionMetrics is the premier provider of historical options data for use in empirical research and econometric studies. Quantitative researchers and financial professionals leverage OptionMetrics data for purposes such as analyzing market movement before mergers and acquisitions; exploring the relationship between option prices and daily stock return serial correlation; and investigating possible cases of insider trading.

NOTICE: The database is accessible through the WRDS platform. Individual Account is required when accessing to WRDS Platform. Refer to OptionMetrics guide page for user manuals.

DRCnet Database for Education is a special edition designed by the National Research Network for college and university users. It aims to follow the principles of "professionalism, authority, foresight, guidance, and inclusiveness," to comprehensively collect and integrate cutting-edge information and research findings in the fields of economy, finance, and education at home and abroad. It provides high-end decision-making and research reference information for managers, teachers, students, and research institutions of colleges and universities across the country.

Statista is a statistics portal integrating over 80,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 18,000 sources onto one platform. It is categorized into over 21 market sectors and provides access to relevant and quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

The Wind Financial Terminal (WFT) is a powerful financial software and indispensable business partner to global financial institutions, investment and research firms, corporates, government authorities, and media etc., providing global financial data, information and insights on all asset classes such as equity, bond, futures, FX, fund, index, option, commodities, as well as commercial data in macroeconomics, industry sectors and corporate operations. WFT provides 7 / 24 / 365 real-time information of global markets to keep you updated with latest market trends, financial opportunities and competition.

Refinitiv Workspace provides Reuters News, global pricing data, company fundamentals, real-time research, commodities data and research, I/B/E/S estimates, deals & league tables, Datastream, and analytics + features. Refinitiv Workplace will give students the ability to analyze financial markets, giving access to the broadest and deepest coverage of financial data, news, analytics, and productivity tools.

NOTICE: Refinitiv Workspace Terminal is only accessible by fixed terminals on campus. For detailed location distribution and related usage introduction, please refer Refinitiv libguide page.