LibGuides: Financial Data Databases: About this guide

Librarian

Mingfei Gong ( Violet )

Email Me

Contact:

TEL: +86 512 8188 4898
OFFICE: 930, Central Building

Subjects: Business Multi-disciplines, Economics & Finance, Management

Additional Business Research Guides

Welcome

Welcome to the topic guide for Financial Data Databases!

This LibGuide will help you to find data you need for your research in business and economics, and related fields. It has general information on translating your research question into data requirements, and gives information on useful sources for specific types of data.

Financial research varies from simple activities like accessing a company's public filings to complex tasks like compiling several years of historical returns for a set of securities. Start your research with this collection of resources!

Online Databases Overview

WRDS - Wharton Research Data Services This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WRDS is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. Provides access to financial, accounting, banking, economics, marketing, and public policy databases through a uniform, web-based interface.
Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) (via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Please login to WRDS to access the database. Visit the guide by clicking the link beside the database title for more information.
The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta-based and cap-based portfolios, treasury bond and risk-free rates, mutual funds, and real estate data.
Compustat - Catpital IQ (via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Please login to WRDS to access the database. Visit the guide by clicking the link beside the database title for more information.
Compustat is a market database published by Standard and Poor's, providing company data going back 40 to 50 years on over 65,000 securities, as of 2010. It provides sophisticated retrieval and personalization tools to create numerous reports.
The type of information published by Compustat include: Global Industry Classification Standards (GICS), pricing data, earnings data, insider and institutional holdings, and other information directed at investors and analysts.
CSMAR (China Stock Market & Accounting Research) This link opens in a new window
CSMAR Database is the comprehensive database for Chinese business research, covering data on the Chinese stock market; financial statements and China Corporate Governance of Chinese Listed Firms.
CSMAR requires individual registration before get data.
The subscription includes 20 sub-databases. Years of data dating back are different in different sub-databases. Earliest data dating back to 1949.
1.Economic research series include macroeconomic data as early as 1949, industry and economic indicator data in 39 categories (720 classes). 2.Securities trading series cover all trading instruments in domestic main exchanges and financial market. 3. Listed firm series contain various data of all companies listed in China Mainland and HK.
CEIC China+Global Package This link opens in a new window
CEIC Data cover Macro-economic, industrial and financial time-series data. CEIC database cover three main categories of information: Economic, Sector, and Corporate.
Top analysts and economists from over 800 institutional clients around the globe know CEIC as the definitive source for accurate and timely economic data. CEIC’s China Premium Database is a leading time-series database, focusing exclusively on the China market. Historical data are running back to 1951 and beyond. Unrivalled depth and breadth of national, provincial and municipal data on China organized into 11 widely monitored macroeconomic categories and 200 industrial groupings from 16 industrial sectors.
Coverage: Exclusive and detailed CPI components like Core CPI, Pork, Cosmetic and Utilities etc; Organized and systematic price data which covers agricultural, industrial, metal, energy, property, utility, consumer goods and services together with detailed breakdowns of cities for some of the major commodities; 8-digits major commodities import and export, as well as breakdown by countries in some major commodities, like Oil & Gas, Metal, Auto, etc; Comprehensive datasets in City Labor Market and Government Finance; Comprehensive datasets in Bond market and Commodities Futures market; Comprehensive sets of monitoring indicators, such as leading index, business and entrepreneurs' survey, banking survey, consumer survey and PMI.
ORBIS Bank Focus (Bank Scope) This link opens in a new window
Orbis Bank Focus (Bank Scope) is a new database of banks worldwide. Information on 38,000 banks around the world (28,000 US and 10,000 non-US) with 5 years' history for listed banks and 3 years for unlisted. Orbis bank focus draws information from the latest accounting and regulatory disclosures including Basel III CET1, transitional vs fully-loaded regulatory capital ratios, total loss absorbing capacity, net stable funding, holdco double leverage and market risk.
BoardEx This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: BoardEx is a part of the WRDS Financial Data Project. Visit the guide by clicking the link beside the database title for more information about this.

The BoardEx Core Reports are sets of excel files containing all of the available data for the selected subset(s) and region(s) for the full time-series. The excel files are delivered one-time via a secure file transfer protocol. The Core Reports are produced in April and October of each year.
BoardEx contains full details on public company boards, board directors and senior managers, from companies around the globe. Networks of directors are mapped out based on time they've spent at the same organizations. BoardEx currently contains details on over 952,000 Individuals and over 1.45 million Organizations both public and private.
OptionMetrics (via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Please login to WRDS to access the database. Visit the guide by clicking the link beside the database title for more information.
OptionMetrics is the premier provider of historical options data for use in empirical research and econometric studies. Quantitative researchers and financial professionals leverage OptionMetrics data for purposes such as analyzing market movement before mergers and acquisitions; exploring the relationship between option prices and daily stock return serial correlation; and investigating possible cases of insider trading.
RavenPack News Analytics (via WRDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Please login to WRDS to access the database. Visit the guide by clicking the link beside the database title for more information.
RavenPack News Analytics (RPNA) provides real-time structured sentiment, relevance and novelty data for entities and events detected in the unstructured text published by reputable content sources. Publishers include Dow Jones Newswires, the Wall Street Journal and over 19,000 other traditional and social media sites.
WorldScope (via WRDS） This link opens in a new window
The Worldscope database offers fundamental data on the world’s leading public and private companies. Worldscope provides annual and interim/quarterly data, detailed historical financial statement content, per share data, calculated ratios, pricing and textual information. Worldscope database components include: Full constituent coverage of the major benchmark indexes worldwide; as reported and standardised financial data with dynamic data mapping; detailed business descriptions; business segment geographic sales data; interim financial accounts information; multi-share information; pre-calculated ratios and growth rates; exchange rates; fully adjusted pricing and dividends information, including high, low, close, price/earnings ratio, yield, earnings per share, market value, volume traded & shares outstanding.
DRCnet Database for Education This link opens in a new window
* Please clear your browser cache if access is restricted. 如遇访问故障，请先尝试清除浏览器缓存。
DRCnet Database for Education is a specialized version of DRCnet database for subscribers from colleges and universities, which collects and integrates overseas and domestic dynamics and findings of researches on economy, finance, industries and education.
UN Comtrade This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) was founded in early 1960s.It is the world's largest and most authoritative international commodity trade data resource created by the United Nations Statistics Office.
More than 200 countries and territories provide their official annual merchandise trade data to the United Nations Statistics Office every year, covering 99% of global merchandise trade, which truly reflects the trend of international merchandise flows.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a statistics portal integrating over 80,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 18,000 sources onto one platform . It is categorized into over 21 market sectors and provides access to relevant and quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Financial Data Terminals

Bloomberg terminal This link opens in a new window
The Bloomberg Terminal seamlessly integrates the very best in data, news and analytics.
It features company financials, market data spanning more than 20 years, charts, statistics, a communications platform and current news reports.
This database can be only accessed in the IBSS's financial lab ( BS415, open to all students from Monday to Sunday)
Wind Financial Terminal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wind is a standalone software installed on the university's computers in BS429, BS415, MA509 – ICFT Lab and the Research Commons on 9th floor of the Library. During the online education period, please get in touch with IT staff at IT@xjtlu.edu.cn for further assistant.
The Wind Financial Terminal provides investment professionals with the data and insights they need to understand China's complex capital markets and economy. The terminal integrates the most comprehensive and accurate market data, fundamental data, research, news, and analytics tools across all asset classes in China
Refinitiv Workspace terminal This link opens in a new window
Refinitiv Workspace provides Reuters News, global pricing data, company fundamentals, real-time research, commodities data and research, I/B/E/S estimates, deals & league tables, Datastream, and analytics + features.
The Refinitiv Workspace Terminal could be found in Library Research Commons (Central Building 9th Floor public area), BS 429 and BS 415 (IBSS's financial lab).