Skip to Main Content

Library Access and Privileges

Alumni

 

XJTLU Library is committed to providing to all alumni of XJTLU a quality library service. Alumni include students graduated from XJTLU or current 2+2 students who are studying at the University of Liverpool. 

Visiting Use the valid XJTLU Alumni Card or QR Code to visit the Library.
Borrowing Fill in Alumni Borrowing Access Application Form to apply for Library borrowing access.
Library Catalogue (OPAC) Search items in Library Catalogue with Internet access. Visit the Guide for more details about using the Catalogue.
Electronic Resources Walk-in access to the Library’s electronic resources. 
Restricted Remote Access to Electronic Resources Remotely access alternative electronic resources by using the resources list for alumni as below. You must access the licensed electronic resources with alumni account using the links on the resources list for alumni.
LiVE Log in LiVE, an online equivalent of Information Literacy modules for self-learning.
Reference Service Contact a librarian for reference services via LibAnswers, and email of askalibrarian@xjtlu.edu.cn.

+ How to activate my XJTLU Alumni Card?

Please when in possession of your XJTLU Alumni Card, firstly go to Library Circulation Desk on Level 3 (SIP campus) / Level 1 (XJTLU Library in XEC) to activate your card.

+ When will my XJTLU Alumni Card get expired and where can I reactivate it?

All XJTLU Alumni Cards will be expired on December 31st of the current year. Please bring your international passport or other authorized form of ID to the Library Circulation Desk on Level 3 (SIP campus) / Level 1 (XJTLU Library in XEC) when applying for XJTLU Alumni Card re-activation. Your XJTLU Alumni Card needs to be re-activated every year for using. If you have any queries, please call 0512-8816 1290/1291 (SIP campus) or 0512-8897 0716/0717 (XJTLU Library in XEC) to ask for assistance to reactivate your XJTLU Alumni Card.

+ How to access the Library if I forgot to bring my XJTLU Alumni Card?

Alumni who forgot to bring their XJTLU ID Cards with them may use XJTLU APP to scan XJTLU Identity QR Code to enter and exit the library.

+ How to access the Library if I lost my XJTLU Alumni Card?

If a user loses his or her XJTLU Alumni Card, please report the loss to Library Circulation Desk on Level 3 (SIP campus) / Level 1 (XJTLU Library in XEC) or report card loss on the Library OPAC system. While a new card is being prepared for you, you may use XJTLU APP to scan XJTLU Identity QR Code to enter and exit the library. After your new card has been issued to you, please swipe your XJTLU Alumni Card to enter the Library. In case of lost XJTLU Alumni Card, if you have applied for a new one, then the old card is invalid.

Electronic Resources for Alumni

 

Library Databases

Research Tool

Note: If you encounter any permission issues while accessing the three resource mentioned above, please contact askalibrarian@xjtlu.edu.cn using your alumni email.

Open Access Resources

BASE

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) is an online search tool for open access resources and documents. Hosted at the Bielefeld University Library in Germany, BASE harvests its data from open access scholarly repositories.

British Library EThOS

The UK’s national thesis service which provides access to over 475,000 downloadable doctoral theses.

Directory of Open Access Books(DOAB)

A finding aid for thousands of peer-reviewed open access books from many academic publishers.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
An index and search engine that provides direct links to journals and journal articles that are open to all. It contains free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.

Hathi Trust

Over 8 million titles (including books & journals) 2.5 million of which are in the public domain.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes over 1.6 million theses and dissertations.

Project Gutenberg
Over 49,000 free books available in a variety of downloadable formats.

PubMed Central (PMC)
Repository of articles produced with the support of NIH research grants and made publically available within 12 months of publication. Note: Not all titles and articles are available in full text.

Digital Humanities Now

Real-time publication that takes the pulse of the digital humanities community and tries to discern what articles, blog posts, projects, tools, collections, and announcements are worthy of greater attention.

Digital Public Library of America

The DPLA is large-scale digital public library in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage.

SSOAR

The Social Science Open Access Repository contains both pre- and post-print articles from a wide range of the social sciences. It has both English and foreign language publications.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

A free online encyclopedia of philosophy from “abduction” to “zombies.” Note: No articles are available here.

AgEcon

It contains Agricultural & Applied Economics working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.

ArXiv.org

It includes Physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics e-prints (articles & papers).

BioMedCentral

A pioneer in open access, BioMed Central, now owned by Springer Verlag, publishes over 60 open access journals as well as additional "toll-access" journals.

BMC Cell Biology

A peer-reviewed Cell Biology journal also indexed/tracked/covered by PubMed, MEDLINE, BIOSIS, CAS, EMBASE, Scopus, CABI, Thomson Reuters (ISI) and Google Scholar.

F1000Research

F1000Research is an Open Research publishing platform across science and medicine.

Open Repository of National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC-OR)

An open access repository for research papers under fully or partially NSFC-funded projects.

PLoS One

PLos One contains peer-reviewed scientific and medical research articles from journals in biology, medicine, computational biology, genetics, pathogens, and neglected tropical diseases.

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS)

Commonly called the Astrophysics Data System, this is a digital portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics.