Managing References
You can manually attach a file stored on your computer to a reference in your EndNote library. Various file formats, such as audio and multimedia files (wav, mp3, mov, Quicktime), PDFs, Microsoft Access/Excel/PowerPoint/Project/Visio/Word files, and text files (txt, rtf, html), can be included as attachments.
- Select a reference in the EndNote library
- Click on References > File Attachments > Attach File Or Click on Attach File on the right panel
Up to 45 files may be attached to each record.
EndNote has the capability to automate the retrieval and attachment of full-text files to its records through the Find Full Text command. This feature operates most effectively when the EndNote record contains a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) within the designated DOI field. Whether Endnote can help us get the full text depends on the subscribing permission of the library we are in. Only those with permission to download can be automatically obtained by endnote. Secondly, the success rate of this full-text download function is not 100%, because some databases will prohibit third-party tools to obtain the full text.
- Select the references you would like to find full text
- Right-click > find full text
If you find the full text, you can see a paper clip logo in front of the selection. If it is not found, the left side will also say Not found. It should be noted here that we must use the find full-text function of Endnote in a reasonable way, do not use tools and software to download in batches, and do not do that continuously, or systematically, do not set up proxy servers without permission, please respect intellectual property rights. Avoid database abuse incidents that cause publishers to shut down the university's access to the database.
EndNote's Group logic includes two levels: Group Set (like folders) and Groups (like subfolders).
- Click on Groups > Create Group Set
- Type a name for the group set
- Select the Group Set > Click on Groups > Create Group
- Type a name for the group
When you're diving into references, you can add your notes easily.
- Click on a reference > Click on Edit on the right panel
- Type your notes in the Research notes
The benefit of adding reading notes is that the reference can be searched through the quick search function. One thing to note is that: to use this function, your PDFs need to be readable text, that is, vector text, not scanned documents or images.
How can I use my endnote library on different devices? There are two methods.
- Directly find the EndNote library in your computer > Copy your EndNote library (.enl file), AND its associated Data (.Data) folder > Paste it to your different devices
- File > Compress Library (.enlx) > choose the option to Create | With File Attachments
- Tips for tracking and measuring your research impact
