LibGuides: English: Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals Online (CJO) provides access to the full text of over 340 peer-reviewed journals, including journals published by Cambridge University Press or on behalf of over 100 learned societies. Disciplines including science, humanities, engineering and social sciences are covered in CJO.
CNKI Journals This link opens in a new window
China Academic Journals Full-text Database (CAJ) provides access to more than 23.5 million articles from 8,200 Chinese journals in a broad range of subjects.
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
The Digital Commons Network provides free access to full-text scholarly articles and other research from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, this dynamic research tool includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Clicking "Explore" anywhere on the multicolored Discipline Wheel opens a Commons page for a particular academic discipline. From here, you may browse popular and recently added articles, search all content, or "Follow" authors and publications to receive monthly email updates on new work in that field.
DUXIU Academic Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DUXIU supports searching on books, journals, newspapers, conference papers and dissertations in all subjects. The system is also part of the Library's inter-library loan service. It will deliver the text to users' mailbox by their completed request form.
DUXIU requires individual registration to get data.
Humanities International Complete (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete database contains more than 2,100 kinds of humanities journals and certain humanities abstracts of H. W. Wilson.
The earliest literature can date back to 1925, including more than 890 kinds of full-text journals and more than 200 kinds of monographs.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) has created a full text digital ARCHIVE of core scholarly journals with complete back runs of many titles.
It provides access to 17 JSTOR's archival journal collections, including Arts & Science I~XV, Business IV and Health & General Science, Sustainability.
Literary Reference Center (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literature full-text and reference database, providing users with the wide literature from ancient to modern reference information.
Literary Reference Center includes more than 10,000 synopsis overview, summary and books, 75,000 articles of literary criticism, etc.
Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Oxford Journals is a multi-disciplinary database and covers the disciplines of life science, social sciences and humanities, medicine, mathematics and physics sciences and law. Over 70% of the OUP journals are indexed in SCIE, SSCI and A&HCI. The XJTLU Library has subscribed to the complete collection of 262 journals.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. MUSE currently includes over 400,000 articles covering the subject of language and linguistics, literature, film studies, education, art and architecture, creative writing, social sciences, etc.
SAGE Journals-The Original Site This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Journals provide access to 900+ academic journals in the fields of business, humanities, social science, and science, technology, and medicine, with content back to volume 1, issue 1.
For full text access, please visit http://sage.cnpereading.com.ez.xjtlu.edu.cn/
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
NOTE: For most disciplines, you may access to the recent 5-year journal fulltexts.
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database of Elsevier. Journal coverage is back to the first volume for some titles in subjects- Business, Management and Accounting, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, Environmental Science, Mathematics, Social Science.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online Journals provides full-text access to high quality academic journals published by companies in the Taylor & Francis Group. Subjects available in T&F SSH and ST include Language Studies, Arts, Business, Geography and Urban Planning, Media and Culture, Politics and International Relations, Public Health, Biological, Earth, Environmental & Food Science, Chemistry, Mathematics & Statistics, Physics, Engineering, Computing & Technology, etc.
WanFang Data This link opens in a new window
Wanfang Data focuses on digital resources, such as journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, patents, standards, Chinese companies etc., providing information on Chinese studies (arts/humanities/social sciences), TCM (Traditional Chinese Medicine), Chinese Business, Law, Government, Defense, Military, Science, Technology and China Local Gazetteers.
Wanfang Data, being the leading information contents provider in China, is an affiliate of the Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. WanFang Data has been a task force of the Institute of Scientific & Technological Information of China (ISTIC), the Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology, since 1950s. The China Local Gazetteers include multiple, special and different departments chronicles from ancient China till now.

Finding Bibliographies & Indexes

Education Resource Information Center (ERIC, via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Essential Science Indicators (ESI) This link opens in a new window
The Essential Science Indicators database reveals emerging science trends as well as influential individuals, institutions, papers, journals and countries in your field of research.
With science trend statistics drawn from more than 12 million articles from over 12,000 global journals, Essential Science Indicators delivers the in-depth coverage you need to effectively analyze and benchmark research performance, identify significant trends, rank top performers, and evaluate potential employees and collaborators.
Based on a 10-year rolling file, Essential Science Indicators is updated every two months.
Built on the foundation of Web of Science, Essential Science Indicators uses selective, structured and complete data.
InCites This link opens in a new window
InCites is a citation-based evaluation tool for academic and government administrators to analyse institutional productivity and benchmark output against peers and aspirational peers in a national or international context.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Modern Language Association summarizes more than 3,000 kinds of journals and periodicals, more than 1,000 publishing house of books, conference proceedings related to language and literature, linguistics, folklore, and other academic fields all around the world to search the sources of the related data.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Teacher Reference Center (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides evaluation, method, modern education research, post education, course design, foundation education, high education, media education, language education, university management and education for academic staff.
It also has indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the world’s leading citation databases, more than 10,000 academic Journals are selected to provide coverage of all fields of scholarly research. XJTLU's subscription includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-E, 1900--present), Social Science Citation Index (SSCI, 1900--present), Art & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI, 1975--present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S, 1990--2018), Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH, 1990--2018), etc.

Finding Theses and Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is an online database that indexes, abstracts, and provides full-text access to U.S and European dissertations and theses. Students and researchers could search the database for titles related to their scholarly interests.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses allows:
- Graduate students to consult the database to make sure their proposed thesis or dissertation topics have not already been written about
- Students, faculty, and other researchers to search for titles related to their scholarly interests
- Instant access to high-quality, multidisciplinary research materials
British Library EThOS This link opens in a new window
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses. It provides access to over 475,000 downloadable doctoral theses.
DART-Europe E-theses Portal This link opens in a new window
DART-Europe E-theses Portal provides access to 578,489 open access research theses from 573 Universities in 28 European countries.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Open (PQDT Open) This link opens in a new window
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses across different disciplines free of charge. Users can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses, and view the complete text in PDF format.