Librarian
Welcome to the subject guide for Biological Sciences!
This guide will help you to start with biology studies. You will be able to find the following materials here:
DISCOVER: all subjects
Search for print and electronic resources in Library Catalogue and most of the library databases
Search Library Catalogue (OPAC)
Search for print books, e-books and print journals in library collections
Top Databases for Articles and More
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIt is a leading full-text scientific database of Elsevier which includes 260+ journals on diverse research areas of biological sciences.
- Nature Neuroscience This link opens in a new window
Nature Neuroscience is a multidisciplinary journal that publishes papers of the highest quality and significance in all areas of neuroscience. Its focus is original research papers relating specifically to neuroscience. In addition to primary research, Nature Neuroscience publishes news and views, reviews, editorials, commentaries, perspectives, book reviews and correspondence. In this way, the journal aims to be the voice of the worldwide neuroscience community.
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new windowJoVE is the world’s first peer-reviewed scientific video journal. Each article provides a video to show the key experimental techniques.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowThis is a powerful multidisciplinary literature database. It's particular strength is mapping citation networks.
- Wiley Online Journals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library provides 150+ journals on life sciences. - American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society (ACS) is recognized as a leading publisher of authoritative scientific information. It publishes 55 titles of ACS journals covering research on chemistry, chemical engineering, food science, environmental science, material science, energy & fuel, biochemistry & molecular biology, physical chemistry.
Duxiu Academic Search - Getting articles from Nature Series Journals
Duxiu Academic Search is an important full-text database and also works as a document delivery system. For some resources that are not subscribed by the Library, it is suggested obtaining the full text via Duxiu Academic search. Within the database, you could get articles from ACS, Nature Publishing Group Journals, etc.
Please refer to the quick guide HERE when using Duxiu Academic Search for the first time.
Any queries, please contact the subject librarian.
Related Guides
Cannot find the answers you need?