Cultural Technology: Databases

Art & Architecture Complete is a leading database for the study of art and architecture. It offers 204 active full-text art journals and magazines. In addition to full-text art journals, Art & Architecture Complete includes a collection of more than 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and other sources. Beneficial for artists, scholars, and designers, it encompasses fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.

Communication Source is the most comprehensive full-text research database for communication studies. It offers 654 active full-text communication journals and magazines and covers all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the pinnacle resource for researchers of film and television, providing the most comprehensive, balanced collection of full-text and bibliographic coverage from scholarly and popular sources, and spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies (Cinematography, Film and television theory, Preservation and restoration, Production, Reviews, Screenwriting, Technical aspects). In addition to full-text journals, Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text includes variety movie reviews dating back to 1914 and more than 65,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

JSTOR (Journal Storage) is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR archival journal collections feature the full-text articles of more than 2,800 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries. Collections include multi-discipline, discipline-specific, and region-based packages. 

Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. MUSE currently includes over 400,000 articles covering the subject of language and linguistics, literature, film studies, education, art and architecture, creative writing, social sciences, etc.

Taylor & Francis Online Journals provides full-text access to high quality academic journals including the world’s largest program of Social Science and Humanities journals published by Routledge; cutting-edge theoretical and applied Science, Technology and Medicine content from Taylor & Francis; and CogentOA, a suite of broad-spectrum open access journals.  Detailed subjects include Language Studies, Arts, Business, Geography and Urban Planning, Media and Culture, Politics and International Relations, Public Health, Biological, Earth, Environmental & Food Science, Chemistry, Mathematics & Statistics, Physics, Engineering, Computing & Technology, etc.

Patsnap Analytics is a global patent and innovation database that provides users with a comprehensive and user-friendly platform for conducting patent searches. PatSnap Analytics connects 116 jurisdictions, 140 million patents, and 250+ million innovation data points from around the world. With PatSnap Analytics, you can perform highly targeted global searches that generate reliable detailed innovation intelligence that can help you manage risk, spot new opportunities, defend your innovations and keep an eye on the competitive landscape.

NOTICE: Please visit https://cn-account.zhihuiya.com/public/#/register and use your XJTLU email to register an account and access to the database. If you need to access advanced analysis functions in PatSnap, you can come to Research Common at Level 9 in XJTLU Library and use the designated desktop.