Subject Librarian
Welcome to the subject guide for Chemistry!
This guide will help you to start with chemistry studies. You will be able to find the following materials here:
- Chemistry-related books available in the Library
- Recommendations on databases and other digital resources
- Referencing and academic writing tips
DISCOVER: all subjects
Search for print and electronic resources in Library Catalogue and most of the library databases
Search Library Catalogue (OPAC)
Search for print books, e-books and print journals in library collections
Top Databases for Articles and More
- SciFinder Discovery Platform This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform (Academic) aggregates scientific literature and patents published by thousands of journals and 64 patent authorities, in more than 50 different languages from more than 180 different countries. It covers multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary scientific and technological knowledge, including chemistry, biology, pharmaceuticals, materials, food, applied chemistry, chemical engineering, agronomy, polymer, physics, etc. The literature sources include international journals, patents, conference proceedings, dissertations, books, technical reports, comments, preprints, network resources, etc.
NOTICE: Registration is required. Please register using your XJTLU email address (e.g. @*.xjtlu.edu.cn) by clicking the link here.
- Reaxys This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reaxys is a chemistry-specific database. You can find information about topics, compounds, and reactions. - Wiley Online Journals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library provides 80+ journals on chemistry subject including 'Advanced Energy Materials'. - Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Journals This link opens in a new windowDepartment of Chemistry in XJTLU is accredited by RSC in 2017. This organization publishes 43 peer-reviewed journals on chemistry subject.
- Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC) is a global leader in structural chemistry data, software, and knowledge for materials and life sciences research and development.
Specializing in the collation, preservation, and application of scientific structural data, CCDC offers the renowned Cambridge Structural Database (CSD), a trusted resource containing fully curated organic and metal-organic structures utilized by researchers worldwide.NOTICE: Users have to first register for an individual account when accessing to CSD and then request a License Activation Key by emailing askalibrarian@xjtlu.edu.cn. The database provides two versions including webCSD and client software. Click to open the user guide.
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new windowJoVE is the world’s first peer-reviewed scientific video journal. Each article provides a video to show the key experimental techniques.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowThis is a powerful multidisciplinary literature database. It's particular strength is mapping citation networks.
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new window
American Chemical Society (ACS) is recognized as a leading publisher of authoritative scientific information. It publishes 55 titles of ACS journals covering research on chemistry, chemical engineering, food science, environmental science, material science, energy & fuel, biochemistry & molecular biology, physical chemistry.
RSC Referencing Style
The Royal Society of Chemistry have a specific referencing style that they use across all their journals, as it ensures that all references are given accurately, clearly and with sufficient detail. It’s always worth checking with your department what referencing style they recommend though, and if they have specific guidelines they want you to follow.
Duxiu Academic Search - Getting Articles from ACS Journals
Duxiu Academic Search is an important full-text database and also works as a document delivery system. For some resources that are not subscribed by the Library, it is suggested obtaining the full text via Duxiu Academic search. Within the database, you could get articles from ACS, Nature Publishing Group Journals, etc.
Please refer to the quick guide HERE when using Duxiu Academic Search for the first time.
Any queries, please contact the subject librarian.
Related Guides
Cannot find the answers you need?