Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TOP RECOMMENDED ONLINE LEARNING RESOURCES
For your reference, XJTLU Library selected several top learning sites here and it would be nice to make full use of your time on positive and beneficial online learning resources.
Most sites recommended use the freemium model with some contents accessible without charge. The rest are totally free. You may find actual university curriculum course materials as well as very general non-academic resources. Most sites are available in English or multi languages. A few sites only available in Chinese will also be instructed in Chinese below.
Multi-Discipline Online Learning
All online learning resources are sorted by 3 categories: general, arts, and science. You can browse any category you interested by switching tabs.
Coursera is a learning site offering courses (free for audit) from over 100 partners — top universities from over 20 countries, as well as non-university partners — with verified certificates as a paid option.
The edX site offers free subject matter from top universities, colleges and schools from around the world, including MIT and Harvard, and many courses are "verified," offering a certificate of completion for a nominal minimum fee.
Harvard Extension School: Open Learning Initiative
Harvard's Open Learning Initiative offers a selection of free video courses (taken from the edX selection) for the general public that covers a range of typical college topics, including Arts, History, Math, Statistics, Computer Science, and more.
Khan Academy is one of the early online learning sites, offering free learning resources for all ages on many subjects, and free tools for teachers and parents to monitor progress and coach students.
MIT Open Courseware
MIT Open Courseware includes most of the MIT course curriculum — all for free — with hundreds of higher education institutions joining in with their own course materials later.
Open Learning Initiative
Carnegie Mellon University's Open Learning Initiative is course content (many open and free) intended for both students who want to learn and teachers/institutions requiring teaching materials.
Open Yale Courses
Open Yale Courses are free, open access, non-credit introductory courses recorded in Yale College's classroom and available online in a number of digital formats.
Stack Exchange is one of several dozen Q+A sites covering multiple topics. Ask a targeted question, get answers from professional and enthusiast peers to improve what you already know about a topic.
Stanford Online is a collection of free courses which includes a wide array of topics that include human rights, language, writing, economics, statistics, physics, engineering, software, chemistry, and more.
Busuu is an AI-powered language learning platform that allows users to interact with native speakers from around the world. There are 12 language courses currently offered.
Creative Live offer online classes in photography, art, design, craft & DIY, marketing, business, and entrepreneurship.
Duolingo is an American platform that includes a language-learning website and mobile app, as well as a digital language-proficiency assessment exam. It provides bite-sized lessons for more than 30 languages.
Harvard WorldMap is an online, open source mapping platform developed to lower barriers for scholars who wish to explore, visualize, edit, and publish geospatial information.
Marginal Revolution University
Marginal Revolution University is building the world’s largest online library of free economics education videos – currently weighing in at more than 800 videos.
Poynter's News University
Poynter's News University is one of the world's most innovative online journalism and media training programs ever created. From multimedia techniques to writing and reporting, we've got more than 300 free and low-cost courses.
Better Explained offers a big-picture-first approach to learning mathematics — often with visual explanations — whether for high school algebra or college-level calculus, statistics and other related topics.
Mathematics Stack Exchange
Mathematics Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people studying math at any level and professionals in related fields.
Stanford Engineering Everywhere
Stanford Engineering Everywhere houses engineering (software and otherwise) classes that are free to students and educators, with materials that include course syllabi, lecture videos, homework, exams and more.
W3School提供所有的网站建设教程：从基础的 HTML 到 CSS，乃至进阶的 XML、SQL、JS、PHP 和 ASP.NET。
Wolfram Αlpha is a computational knowledge engine. It answers factual queries directly by computing the answer from externally sourced "curated data".
Information Literacy Online Learning
Learning in Virtual Environment (LiVE)
LiVE is an online learning platform developed by the Library, which provides a collection of information literacy tutorials to help you develop the skills necessary to find information in any format and to evaluate it critically. LiVE also offers you knowledge of referencing and publishing for your researches.