LibGuides: China Studies: Home

Liasion Librarian

Mengqi Chen

Welcome to the subject guide for China Studies!

This guide will help you to start with China Studies. You will be able to find the following materials here:

DISCOVER
Library Catalogue

DISCOVER: all subjects

Search for print and electronic resources in Library Catalogue and most of the library databases

Search Library Catalogue (OPAC)

Search for print books, e-books and print journals in library collections

Featured E-resources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR (Journal Storage) has created a full text digital ARCHIVE of core scholarly journals with complete back runs of many titles.
It provides access to 17 JSTOR's archival journal collections, including Arts & Science I~XV, Business IV and Health & General Science, Sustainability.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals Online (CJO) provides access to the full text of over 340 peer-reviewed journals, including journals published by Cambridge University Press or on behalf of over 100 learned societies. Disciplines including science, humanities, engineering and social sciences are covered in CJO.
WanFang Data This link opens in a new window
Wanfang Data focuses on digital resources, such as journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, patents, standards, Chinese companies etc., providing information on Chinese studies (arts/humanities/social sciences), TCM (Traditional Chinese Medicine), Chinese Business, Law, Government, Defense, Military, Science, Technology and China Local Gazetteers.
Wanfang Data, being the leading information contents provider in China, is an affiliate of the Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. WanFang Data has been a task force of the Institute of Scientific & Technological Information of China (ISTIC), the Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology, since 1950s. The China Local Gazetteers include multiple, special and different departments chronicles from ancient China till now.
DUXIU Academic Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DUXIU supports searching on books, journals, newspapers, conference papers and dissertations in all subjects. The system is also part of the Library's inter-library loan service. It will deliver the text to users' mailbox by their completed request form.
DUXIU requires individual registration to get data.
China Statistical Yearbooks Database (CSYD) This link opens in a new window
CSYD is a leading database of official data in China who collects all important statistical yearbooks published by Mainland China Press.
It covers various kinds of census and survey data. To date, there are 2301 titles with volumes of statistical yearbooks published in CSYD, including all the continuously published statistical yearbooks in China.
China Social Sciences Citation Index (CSSCI) This link opens in a new window
China Social Sciences Citation Index (CSSCI) is an interdisciplinary citation index database in China. This citation database covers about 500 academic journals of humanities and social sciences.

Reference Sources

Britannica Academic (Encyclopaedia Britannica Online) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica is one of the top three encyclopedias. EB Online has gathered and organized information on thousands of topics for easy retrieval.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
OED Online provides the most authoritative and comprehensive record of the English Language in the world, tracing the evolution and use of more than 600,000 words through 3 million quotations.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is the ideal tool for researchers and students in the fields of social and behavioral sciences. It is a collection of more than 1100 case study examples, downloadable teaching datasets, full-text titles from the Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series, as well as video tutorials showing research in action.
Additionally, it is also the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, and journal articles by world-leading academics from across the social sciences.

Cannot find the answers you need?